Interview with Angela Davey

I first encountered Angela when I started writing for Soundshock webzine; after we’d added one another on facebook I developed an instant admiration for Angela and her scathing, witty statuses, rampant – but undeniably wonderful – feminism and her hair styles which seemed to change rapidly! Despite never actually meeting her, I am honoured to have Angela as a friend on facebook; her statuses brighten up my day, her hair and style give me and I imagine many others goals to aspire to and her fierce love of music is infectious. So when it came to considering who I wanted to interview first for VargaMor, Angela was my first thought ~ Becca

IMG_4508
The stunning Angela Davey

Hi. Could you tell us your name and any online pseudonyms you’re known by?

My full name is Angela Louise Davey – the online pseudonym I go by is “d0rkthrone”.

Could you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I currently live and work in London – I reside in North London, about a 15 minute drive away from Camden and work in the “Square Mile” close to Bank and London Bridge. I’m essentially trying to live a Champagne lifestyle on a lemonade budget with varying, but never boring, consequences. My full time job is as a sub-editor for an online company – most written content on their site goes through me before it goes live, for fact, grammatical and spelling checks, and yes, it is as boring as it sounds. However, I’m a committee member of my company’s women’s organisation, which works to empower the company’s women and help support their professional development, and I find the work I do for them extremely rewarding. I also write for Iron Fist Magazine, The Sleeping Shaman and Ave Noctum on the side. I spend the vast majority of my spare time at gigs or listening to records – music is an obsession of mine and it’s pretty much taken over my life; for better and for worse! I love discovering new bands and the capability music has to move me, but at the same time I don’t like the back ache that comes from attending multiple gigs in the space of a week or the fact that I can’t hold a steady relationship because I’m constantly on deadline or blowing off dates because there’s that one show I just “have” to be at.

How did you get into your line of work? “Metal Journalism”

I wouldn’t call it work, really, it’s more of a hobby; I guess there are people that make their living from freelancing, but I’m just too chickenshit to take the risk of not knowing where my next pay cheque is coming from or how I’m going to pay my rent. I’ve always wanted to write, from an early age; my teachers would always pick up on the fact that English and English Literature were my strongest subjects. It was my favourite teacher at secondary school who actually pushed me towards journalism – I remember one parents’ evening her telling my dad “I put Angela’s work at the top of each marking pile, so I have something good to read before I sift through the rest of the crap” – I loved her for that. I had a few pieces of poetry published in books called ‘The Zodiac Anthology’ and after I’d finished school, I went off to college to study a BTEC National Diploma in Media. Realising this wouldn’t be enough to get me into uni, I also took an intensive evening course studying A level English and started up the college’s first student magazine. I also did my first ever work experience placement for a magazine – Terrorizer Magazine. They seemed to like me and after the week was up, I was invited to contribute to their website. I got into uni, and to be honest, I absolutely hated it. I think I’d probably chosen the wrong course, but they seemed so keen to have me that I stuck it out for three years. I had dreams of writing glossy magazine articles about travel and feminist issues and writing reviews of books and music, but this course was all about newspaper and broadcast journalism and I could feel it crushing my spirit. I used my writing for Terrorizer’s website to keep my creativity alive and began branching out to other publications – it was through this that I discovered and began writing for Soundshock. After I graduated, I returned to Terrorizer again for another work placement and was asked to stay on as a scribe for their magazine, this was my first ever paid writing experience and I remember how proud I felt seeing my name in a print byline for the first time. I knew I needed a full time job doing something that related to my degree, but that I couldn’t do it without experience. I waitressed in a Bistro for a year and took on lots of freelance projects on the side – as well as writing for Terrorizer, I was a content editor for Ghost Cult and reviews editor for Soundshock. It was through this experience that I got the job I have now. I left Terrorizer in October last year and am now writing for Iron Fist Magazine instead. I’m not really sure what the future has it store for me, but I’m feeling positive about it.

You have a very distinctive style, what inspires the way you dress and how you’ve styled your hair?

Happy accidents! I’m a scruff, but thankfully that happens to work in my favour. It’s my strongest belief, when it comes to fashion, that clothing with holes in isn’t for the bin. I think a rough around the edges look adds character and imperfections make people more interesting to look at. I wear a lot of black, mainly because I’m lazy and that way I don’t have to work to make anything match. It’s also the colour I feel most confident in, and always have. I try not to copy anyone but it’s impossible for flashes of women I find inspiring not to creep into my appearance – as odd of a combination as it sounds, I suppose a lot of my style inspiration comes from a mixture of Chelsea Wolfe and Yo-Landi Vi$$er. My hair is a constant work in progress – I had dreadlocks for seven years and never really did anything with them. I brushed them out towards the end of 2013 and since then have been making up for lost time with experimentation by never keeping the same hairstyle for more than a month. I’m pretty impulsive when it comes to my hair, I never give anything much forethought – a sudden “I wonder what this will look like” thought will pass through my head and the next thing I know I’ve got scissors or bleach in my hand. If it ends up looking shit, I just cut it until it doesn’t anymore. You can make anything work if you have enough patience.

Could you show us one or two of your favourite outfits and discuss what they mean to you? 

I rarely buy anything from high street shops because I LOATHE shopping. Stepping into a brightly lit, crowded shop, with rows and rows of replica items and people shoving to grab the last size just fills me with anxiety, so I try to avoid it where ever possible. Most of my stuff either comes from independent designers who handmake everything from ethically sourced fabrics or I’ve bought it second hand from Ebay or a charity shop. I make a lot of my own stuff too – well, I used to; I no longer have access to a sewing machine, so I’m limited in what I can create, but I still try.

The hooded top in the first two pictures comes from Sovrin. I love this because of how big and baggy it is, it’s also really versatile and I don’t have to put much consideration into what I put it with. I always wear a crop top underneath it because of how much is cut out of the sides, and in winter I usually pair it with leggings and boots, then in summer shorts and flip flops.

The top in the third picture is from Sovrin again. It features a cat skull, which I love, as I have a mild obsession with cats. It’s made of nice, thin, ethically sourced cotton and is super raggedy, with loads of holes. I’ve paired it with a scarf I bought from a charity shop and a belt I got from Ebay.

IMG_4511
IMG_4510 Angela proudly modelling her prized Sovrin garments

IMG_4512

IMG_4509

Where do you shop for your dark fashion? Do you have any particular etsy shops or high street shops you want to shout about?

Sovrin – the lady behind this makes amazing pieces, all sourced from environmentally friendly fabrics and hand printed. I’ve lost count of how many Sovrin items I own; they make up most of my wardrobe.

MortiisM – Melissa, the owner, makes gorgeous ethically sourced replica bone jewellery. My favourite piece of hers that I own is a kitten skull necklace (pictured).

Ideologia Store – Based in the South America, the custom made harnesses and lingerie that are created take a little longer to arrive than most other stores, but they are certainly worth the wait. Everything is made by hand and I basically live in the collar I bought from there (pictured)

Martha Rotten – Masterminded by Francene Yorko, who hands crafts all of her jewellery at a studio in Baltimore; every piece is made of lead free pewter. My favourite pair of earrings actually came from here – they’re hoops that are made of pewter, cast from chicken bones.

Bete Noire Jewellery – My gin heart necklace comes from here. Every single piece is handmade and hand painted, and I love the care and attention to detail that goes into all of it.

IMG_4507
Bete Noire Jewellery

Do you have any creative works you wish to share with us?

I sew, draw and paint in the mythical imagining that is my free time (I don’t get much of it!) I create a lot of patches and custom fit band t-shirts, but it’s mostly for me; I don’t intend to sell or create for others simply because I don’t have the time to. I guess the creative work I’m most proud of is my interview with King Dude – he’s one of my musical idols and I’d wanted that interview for the better part of five years, so that was a huge milestone for me.

Do you have any cherished items of clothing or vinyls or CDs or anything else that you would like to show us and talk about? 

I’m a minimalist and I move around a lot, so I pride myself on never owning more than what I could get in the back of a car or a van. Whenever I feel like I’m collecting clutter, or hoarding stuff, I usually give things away or donate a bin bag full of stuff to a charity shop. However, there are a few things I own that have sentimental value to me and I’ll never give away. I have cardboard Disney princess box that’s full of personal trinkets and notes that are special to me. There’s a few silly notes and birthday cards, the flyer for the first ever gig I put on, a ticket stub signed by Garm from Ulver and my “permit” made for me by a friend. It just says “I can do what I want – Ange.” And I’m supposed to show it whenever anyone says I can’t do something – i.e. “You can’t do that” “Yes, I can, I have a permit” –present piece of paper- (inspired by Ron Swanson of Parks and Recreation). I share my room with a big plastic box of band t-shirts – there’s about 60 in there, give or take a few, and I recently had to give a load away, as I could no longer close the lid.I own lots of vinyl too, but my favourite ones are ‘War Machine’ by KISS and ‘Rumours’ by Fleetwood Mac. They’re both original pressings and worth quite a bit, but were just lucky and seriously undervalued finds in second hand shops. I doubt I’ll ever part ways with them. I have a copy of ‘A Blaze in the Northern Sky’ signed for me by Fenriz. This is really special to me and was given to me by an ex as a birthday gift. He went to Norway for a week and is pretty good friends with Gylve (Fenriz), so stayed with him for a couple of days and got him to sign that CD for me. I think I’m probably one of the few people in the world that actually has his autograph. I have a wooden bead bracelet that a friend gave to me 15 years ago. I used to live in Canada, and when I moved to the UK, my friend gave me that bracelet as a leaving gift. It used to have Chinese symbols printed onto the beads that have worn away with age and I can’t wear it anymore because the elastic is so weak, it’s not worth anything, I’m pretty sure it came from a dollar store, but the sentimental value of it is priceless, so I’ll never get rid of it. I have a life size orange cat candle that a friend won for me at an antiques auction – it stands guard between my turntable and my vinyl collection, and I’ll never get rid of it. My huge King Dude poster is my most recent addition to my room, but certainly a permanent one – it’s kind of a shocker to the landlady when she comes to visit, but I feel it adds a certain charm to the room. I have a print on my wall made for me by my friend Alexandra Everson (check her out, her illustrations are amazing). I have print number one of an extremely limited run (I can’t remember if it was five or ten that were made) and one day I will find a frame for it, for now it’s simply tacked to my wall. Last but not least is my Garrus action figure – he’s a main plot character from the video game series Mass Effect, of which I’ve sacrificed many hours of my life to. I used to game a lot, sadly I don’t have as much time to play video games anymore as I’d like to, but that particular franchise will always hold a special place in my heart, as will Garrus!

IMG_4493
“I have cardboard Disney princess box that’s full of personal trinkets and notes that are special to me.”
Part of Angela's generous band t-shirt collection
Part of Angela’s generous band t-shirt collection
IMG_4502
I think I’m probably one of the few people in the world that actually has his autograph
IMG_4495
“I have a life size orange cat candle that a friend won for me at an antiques auction”
IMG_4496
“…it’s kind of a shocker to the landlady when she comes to visit”

Tell us about an album or an artist that means the world to you.

King Dude and Chelsea Wolfe, no doubt! Having met and chatted with King Dude has only deepened my admiration for him as both a person and a musician and it’s through listening to him that I discovered Chelsea Wolfe, as they’ve collaborated together. I own everything Chelsea has ever released on vinyl, along with a myriad of other merch. I guess now I’ve ticked King Dude off the dream interviewee list, Chelsea is up next! One day.

Can you please tell us about your social media platforms so our VargaMor readers can look you up?

I’m on both Twitter and Instagram, as d0rkthrone. Those are the only two social media platforms I have that aren’t Facebook.

Anything else you want to tell us?

I’ll be working on music of my own next year, so keep an eye out. Thank you for the interview!

You can find Angela on Twitter and Instagram and a link to her interview with King Dude here.

One thought on “Interview with Angela Davey

Leave a Reply

