CocoRosie : Lemonade & Gallows

I can’t recall how or when I stumbled across CocoRosie, but they’ve been keeping me aurally and visually satisfied for at least half a dozen years now. Lemonade was the first song I heard from this sister duo. The song and video had me mesmerized me from the word go, and I have returned to it on a regular basis. Gallows was the second song I heard, and I played it over and over and over. Both songs are haunting, disturbing and deeply, deeply beautiful. It’s impossible to compare CocoRosie to any other musical project, though, I think if I had to, I would say the closest sounding band are The Knife (another firm favourite of mine.) If you’re anything like me, you’ll find yourself falling in love with Bianca and Sierra’s voices, as well as their fashion choices in the Lemonade and Gallows videos.

– Katie

Leave a Reply

