Smoke & Mirrors

The other day I went wild and bought some new makeup. It’s a big deal for me, seriously. My makeup routine usually just includes primer, concealer, foundation, powder – and I buy the same stuff over and over and over. It’s rare for the inside of my makeup bag to house anything other than these bare essentials. I mean, I’ve tried making lipstick and mascara and eyeliner a thing of routine, but I’m usually so fucking bad at applying the stuff that I end up taking off all my makeup and starting again.

But the other day I was feeling daring. I saw the Hard Candy Mod Quad Smoke & Mirrors eyeshadow set and a little voice in my head said ‘Go on Katie. You can do it. You can learn to apply it properly and look all sultry and mysterious.’

I’ve had a little play around with it, and so far so good in terms of quality and colour. If I’m wearing eyeshadow, it’s always black, but I’m loving the pale, metallic silver and three tones of metallic grey that this little set offers. I was also attracted to snake skin vibe that the packaging has going on.

I’ve been watching some videos on how to best apply eyeshadow and…would someone care to tell me how the hell the makeup tribes of YouTube look so god damn flawless within seconds? They apply whatever it is they’re applying and it goes on their skin all smoothly and easily, and sits there like an absolute dream. Do these people literally spend days practicing, or is their makeup so bloody expensive that it does all the work for them? I’m going to have some practice sessions with my new shadows, and get back to you when I’ve been successful and don’t look like I’ve just been punched in the face. No idea how long that’s going to take, so any tips would be greatly appreciated!

– Katie

IMG_2768

Leave a Reply

