New Contributor: Lisa v. D.

After Katie left Vargamor, there will be two new contributors to the site. Being one of them, I would like to quickly introduce myself.

So, who am I? I think the question should rather be “How many am I?”

I am a book-worm, tea-addict, moon child, a collector of all things dark and beautiful, an amateur photographer, and maker of handmade photo art. I am a black metal enthusiast and love to dance to 80s dark wave. I am a admirer of turn-of-the-century architecture, the Victorian period (and particularly the way the Victorians mourned the dead), the playfulness of postmodern literature, the aesthetics of romantic poetry and gothic stories, as well as silent films of the expressionist era. I have insatiable wanderlust, frequently go to concerts, yet spend many evenings binge-watching my favourite tv series at home, the nest I built, my fortress, lit by dozens of candles, sweet with incense. Like an evening star, I bloom in darkness, and yet I find myself afraid of the dark at times.

This all may sound chaotic and at parts seem conflicting, but this is exactly how I am. And today I know I don’t have to justify myself for it. I consider the way I live, the way I dress and do my makeup as expression of what I am.Portrait_Lisa v D.jpg

 

I live in North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany. In my spare time you’ll often find me haunting graveyards, castles and ruins, always equipped with my camera as a tool to help me show others the way I see things, see the beauty in the evanescent, the man-made now neglected by man, conquered by nature.

Some of the pictures I take I turn into little pieces of art by transferring them onto wood. I like how in times of digital printing, when reproductions have become as accessible as ever, my photo transfers are handmade and unique. Even if I make several copies of one picture, each of them is one-of-a-kind. Anyway – –  I intend to introduce my artwork to you in a separate blog post at a later time.

I feel honoured to be a part of Vargamor. Through contributing to this wonderful blog, I wish to show there is beauty and talent inside of every women. I want to share what inspires me and thus inspire others. A beautiful dress by an independent designer is no less art to me like a painting. Doing your makeup can just be as expressive as writing a poem. It’s maybe just more transient.

You’ll find more of my photography on Instagram under the name of @styl.bruch and my little online store where I sell my photo transfer artwork on www.stylbruch.tictail.com

I’m looking forward to working with my fellow wolf-crones Becca and Clara, and also hope to read from you, our readers, from time to time.

Cheers, Lisa v. D.

 

 

Leave a Reply

