Beautiful (and Dark) Coloring Books for Adults

When I first heard about the increasing number of adults painting in coloring books, I, honestly, ridiculed this phenomenon. By now, however, I have changed my mind and think that coloring in can almost be meditative, helping people to switch off thinking by focusing on this simple, yet creative task. Since I urgently need something like that, I thought about buying a coloring book myself – yet faced another problem: Even back in school, I refused to work with bright colors in art class. Orange, yellow, grass-green – this isn’t doing it for me. So I thought maybe I could find a coloring book I could color in in shades of grey, and only occasionally use red, or a deep purple, to accentuate.

To cut a long story short: Here are my 5 favorite online finds of beautiful – and potentially dark – coloring books for adults:

1. The Coloring Book for Goths: The World’s Most Depressing Book
51v53yiWFLL._SX358_BO1,204,203,200_
I guess this is a coloring book you would give somebody as a present just for the fun of it. Buzzfeed published an article about it a while ago, which provides many of the coloring pictures.

2. Color the Classics: Alice in Wonderland: A Curiouser Coloring Book
9781626923928
“Color the Classics” actually is a whole series of coloring books based on classic literature. Apart from “Alice in Wonderland” you can also get “The Snow Queen”, “The Wizard of Oz”, “Beauty and the Beast”, among others.

3. Edgar Allan Poe: An Adult Coloring Book
61rVCbzAzuL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_

This is definitely my favourite find so far! The cover image promises exactly what I was looking for: Pictures that also work in black-and-white, with an occasional dash of color.

4. Mütter Museum Coloring Book
PicMonkey Collage

While the Mütter Museum in Philadelphia is still on my list of places I want to visit, this coloring book could make the time until I eventually get there pass more quickly!

5. A Brothers Grimm Coloring Book and Other Classic Fairy Tales: Escape into a World of Fantasy and Imagination
619NSSPbNuL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Fairy tales aren’t for kids only – everybody knows that. Yet I think this coloring book still aims at a younger audience, being rather simple in its design.

Do you like coloring books? If so, which one do you like best?

Lisa v. D.

Leave a Reply

