laura

Laura Makabresku

A photographer and visual artist from Poland, Laura Makabresku is the creator of a dream-like, fairy-tale world – yet there is no such a thing as an happy-ending in sight, as many of her pictures speak of solitude, unfulfilled longing, and even death. Nonetheless, her photography is bestowed with a certain peacefulness that I find conciliating.

Laura herself describes her artistic approach as follows:

“My photographies are like screenshots from beautiful but cruel fairy tales. Their narrations are not straight. Images that appear are more like feelings that come during a lecture of an old folk-based story – full of witchcrafts and retributions. The structure of my works is similar to the structure of a dream where natural tendencies of collecting and organizing impulses and motivations coincide with irrational clashes of objects and feelings. Isolation and wounds are closed into patterns, uneasy and artificial orders – visual spells created in order to divide beastillness from humanity and dreams from horror.”

I think it’s best to let Laura’s pictures speak for themselves (all pictures © Laura Makabresku):

lauralaura3laura5laura6laura8laura9laura10laura11laura12laura13

Just like the pictures of Anna O. Photography which I recently introduced on this blog I feel a certain connection with the work of Laura Makabresku. It’s as if I can find myself, or at least part of my self, in their art. Maybe it’s because both are Polish artists – for I, too, have Polish ancestry. Unfortunately, I have never explored this part of my descent … luckily, artists like them remind me of it every now and then.

Make sure you also check out the Laura’s facebook page as well as her Instagram and blog for more of her mesmerising work.

 Lisa v. D.

2 thoughts on “Laura Makabresku

Leave a Reply

